Day Seventy-Seven: Kurt Vile

by Tom Noonan

I’m not sure if it’s ever happened, if anyone has ever actually gone missing inside of their iTunes library.  I’m sure it happened with a few record players, some Springsteen yarns detaching people from time and pulling them into the passenger’s seat.  It might’ve even happened when My Bloody Valentine made the gap between human and instrument seem both gulfing and infinitesimal, as if Kevin Shields had gone so far in both directions that they met on the other side.  There has to be a few disappearances that could be explained by this phenomenon.  I can’t be the first.

But if you see my face on a milk carton, question Kurt Vile first.  His new album, Wakin on a Pretty Daze, is probably to blame.  Buy it, but be sure to leave a note.

